Why do we do this?

Now i say we, i mean ‘I’, but im saying we cause i know im not the only one who does this.

You see i have this thing, a sort of obsession more than a thing… When i install a fresh OS, i gut out everything i do not want. I sudo apt-get purge the snot out of my PC if its a Debian base. I think its a desire for purification or something…. A need to be clean… My own style perhaps….

But it gets worse. I only ever install applications i know and love. All my menus are nice, clean and tidy, very minimalistic. Its a realy dodgey obsession….

Ok, so why am i posting about this? Because i want to tell you about my new install! Xubuntu 8.10 has had a fresh install on my main drive. I am going to pimp the snot out it. I am installing everything i never normally do. A full office suite, Open Office maybe. Blender for 3D modeling to help in Second Life. A stack of native linux games which i am going to fill my games menu with. Something i very rarely do.

Im going to fill this PC with power apps. I am going to filter through the repos and fill my menus with anything i damn well fancy!

Oh yeah! I am going to utterly bloat my PC!

As i typed that last line, i got the notice to tell me my PC had finished transferring files across from my other hard drive. I was ready. Here i go. The first command of a new desktop! My new pimped up, overblown, bloated Xubuntu install!

sudo apt-get purge gnome-games

…….. DOH!

1 Comment

  1. October 17, 2015 at 8:58 am

    […] In case your not a regular reader, a month or so ago i went against all my normal instincts with a fresh install of Xubuntu Intrepid (Linkage to article). […]


Leave a Reply

