Will i remove the mouse?

A hard question has rose its ugly head to me recently. I realy like a pretty looking desktop. I also like XFCE (bit of a fanboi tbh). Whenever i look at trying new distros i look for what has XFCE first. I loved MINT XFCE and Zenwalk because they both looked fantastic. Also, XFCE has a mouse. This is no trivial thing. Mice rock!

But recently ive been feeling the need for something different… Something maybe a little more satisfying or pretty…..

I dont want Gnome + Compiz. Theres a lot of themes to choose from but its not something im intrested in. To bland and samey for my liking.

KDE? Well maybe, but ive never felt any empathy towards KDE. Never any desire to use it at all. So what else does that leave me with?

Well theres Enlightenment…

Hmms thats an intresting one isnt it… I could try Enlightenment17, give it a bash, so how the ‘arty’ DE is. Its been a while scince i last used it to be honest. So maybe i should try E17.

A flick about and i see two that stand out to me. Elive and OzOs. Elive is based on Debian and OzOs is based on Xubuntu.

Now Elive looks stunning. It mixes the beauty of E17 with Compiz to create an incredibly beautiful distro. OzOs is just E17, but its based on Xubuntu. This had me thinking for a minute. I could stick to my beloved Xubuntu base and carry on wearing my ‘comfy Ubuntu slippers’. Ive always loved Ubuntu/Xubuntu so it just feels comfy for me to use now. Or i could move onto Elive with its Debian base. Debians not unlike Ubuntu in many ways, but at the same time, its not Ubuntu. Does that make sense?

The one slight drawback with OzOs is it uses a Hardy Heron base. This means i wont be able to take advantage of the EXT4 file structure Jaunty is going to use for a long time.

I think i will give them both a spin, see what they are like. Heck, to be honest if i get on with E17 i can always follow my own steps for when i made my own mix of Ubuntu and install E17 on an Ubuntu base. First of all though, i need to give them a spin ^^

OzOs

New_Look_feature_Oz

Elive

elive-engage

Leave a Reply

