A Linux bookmark project

In case you hadn’t noticed, I am in a constant state of change with my PC. I am forever changing distro’s and programs i use. I have a few things i use as my ‘main’ program but i like to sample everything. I find lots of new little programs i otherwise wouldn’t have found doing this.

One annoying thing i keep doing is changing web browser. I never think to take my bookmarks with me. This leaves me constantly making new bookmarks and constantly finding sites I have bookmarked before. Silly isn’t it?

So, today i hit the import / export button on my bookmarks panel and was given a HTML file filled with all my bookmarks. Interesting, didn’t realize it came out as HTML. Well, this gives me a useful idea, collect all the bookmarks i use, and the bookmarks for sites that are Linux based, and chuck it on the net for download. This helps me so that whenever i have a fresh install i can download the file, import it, and away i go. It may also be useful to other folk who want to have a browse of Linux websites but only stick to one or two websites normally.

So, this is my next project. To build my own bookmark file to breaking point, then throw it up for download on the net for everyone to use. Seeing as it is a HTML file i can also just copy pasta it onto a page for this website. Over time i can add to it as i find new sites and build it up and up. I will put everything into categories such as Forums, Distro’s, Games, Reference etc and try to keep it legible to everyone, not just my own random thought lines ^^

If you have any suggestions, feel free to post one up.

2 Comments

  1. chi said,

    March 8, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    good idea! But I just checked under ~/.mozilla/firefox/wwp8xc3q.default (yours might be slightly different) and there’s a file labeled bookmarks.html that contains all my bookmarks. So I guess if you were always switching distros, you could just copy your bookmarks.html file (if not your entire .mozilla folder).

  2. March 8, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    Thanks for the response ^^ Hitting export just gives you a copy of the bookmarks.html file on your desktop. ^^

    Ive put the first copy of my file up for download, look to the left side of the site under the link Linux Bookmarks Project ^^


Leave a Reply

